Chrysalis Award

The JRA Chrysalis Award encourages and assists emerging American visual artists, focusing on different craft mediums each year. 

The Chrysalis Award was created by the James Renwick Alliance to encourage and assist emerging American visual artists. Emerging is defined as someone early in their artistic career, without regard to age, who demonstrates excellence in their work and a commitment to developing in unique and dynamic ways, but without major gallery representation or significant exhibition history. 

The awardee receives a $5,000 unrestricted award, a trip to Washington, DC for a dedicated occasion to give a formal presentation about their work (all expenses paid), and an opportunity to meet with other artists, collectors, and JRA members in the Washington, DC area.  The 2019 Chrysalis Award was generously made possible by JRA member, Pati Young.

Apply for 2019: Mixed Media Chrysalis Award

2018: Glass

Winner: Dean Allison


2016: Fiber

Winner: Shea Wilkinson