We Are . . .

collectors, artists, educators, gallery and museum professionals and others who share a passion for contemporary American craft.

The JRA is a vibrant group of art enthusiasts, collectors, artists, educators, students, and art professionals who share a passion for contemporary American craft.  Our members enjoy a diverse year round schedule of programs including, social events, educational lectures and tours, and art-inspired excursions.

We are committed to advancing scholarship, education and public appreciation of craft art as well as promoting individual achievements of excellence and innovation in the craft field.  As an independent non-profit organization, the JRA has provided more than $3 million for acquisitions, exhibitions, public programs, and publications to Smithsonian American Art Museum’s Renwick Gallery – our nation’s showcase of contemporary American craft.

Become a part of the JRA family and experience all that we have to offer.


Our Mission

The James Renwick Alliance celebrates and advances American Craft and craft artists by fostering education, connoisseurship, and public appreciation through programs, educational trips, publications, and recognition of excellence in the field.  In addition, we provide support to craft artists and museums, including the Renwick Gallery of the Smithsonian American Art Museum.  


Board and Staff

The James Renwick Alliance is a volunteer-led, non-profit organization. We accomplish our goals through the determined efforts of paid staff and an active, working board and membership.

Jaimianne Amicucci
James Renwick Alliance Director
[email protected]

Emily Schimmel
James Renwick Alliance Office Manager
[email protected]

Board Officers
Michele A. Manatt, President
J.G. Harrington, Treasurer

Board Members
Toni Alaimo
Sharon Buchanan
Diane Charnov
Elizabeth Doyle
Marilyn Falik
Kathy Furlong
J.G. Harrington
Reba Immergut
Shirley Jacobs
Cass Johnson
Leslie Lane
Mallory Lawson
Anne Mehringer
Ann Miller
Nikki O'Neill
Geraldine Ostrove
Amanda Phillips
Lynda Slayen
Tim Tate
Andrea Uravitch