Distinguished Educators

The JRA Distinguished Craft Educators Awards are based on the recipient’s reputation for excellence and innovation in education, influence on future artists in an education program, significant contributions to American education in the craft field.


Dan Dailey, Massachusetts College of Art and Design
Peter Held, director, Arizona State University Art Museum Ceramics Research Center
Glen Kaufman, University of Georgia and director, Cranbrook Academy of Art
Patti Warashina, University of Washington



Paulus Berensohn, Penland School of Crafts
Wendy Maruyama, San Diego State University*
Stephen Rolfe Powell, Central State University, Kentucky
Dr. Judith Schwartz, New York State University



Randy Johnston, University of Wisconsin, River Falls
Mark Sfirri, Bucks County Community College
Yoshiko I. Wada, artist, author, exhibition curator, textile researcher, and film producer. She travels throughout the world giving lectures and workshops and participates in conferences to build greater insight into the world of fiber and textiles.



Sharon Church, University of the Arts, Philadelphia
Stuart Kestenbaum, executive director, Haystack Mountain School of Craft
Jacquelyn Rice, Rhode Island School of Design*



Don Reitz, University of Wisconsin, Madison, State University of New York, Alfred, Dover, NJ Public Schools
Cynthia Schira, University of Kansas
Lino Tagliapietra, Pilchuck School of Glass and life master. He teaches through workshops, demonstrations and lectures at colleges and universities, art and glass centers throughout the United States.



William Carlson., University of Illinois
William Daley, Temple University, Philadelphia
Fred Fenster, University of Wisconsin, Madison



Gerhardt Knodel, Executive Director, Cranbrook Academy of Art
Rosanne Somerson, Rhode Island School of Design
Wayne Higby, State University of New York, Alfred



Kenneth Ferguson, Kansas City Art Institute
Arline Fisch San Diego State University
Harvey Littleton, University of Wisconsin, Madison